Pasta from scratch

I have always been a big fan of cooking from scratch. I love making cookies and brownies with flour, sugar, eggs, etcera and not just from a box. Although I have to admit, Betty Crocker sure seems to know how to make a mix. I’ll eat those brownies just as easily as ones from scratch.

Last night I made homemade pasta for the first time ever! It turned out absolutely delicious and I sure want to make some more soon. I didn’t have my camera, so I couldn’t take any pictures, but I did find these on the web. This is how you start the whole process. Just make sure your counter or table is incredibly clean because that’s where all of the mixing takes place.

We used semolina flour which is the “real” flour they use in Italy for pasta. It is more of a yellow flour and has more gluten, so the pasta sticks together better. You just mix the flour and eggs together and add a little water, olive oil, and a pinch of salt.
The hardest part about making the pasta was cutting it thin enough, and as we found out when we ate the pasta, a few of the pieces weren’t actually thin enough, but for the first time, we deemed the results a success!
We made a homemade sauce to go on top of the pasta and then proceeded to eat an enormous quantity of some of the best pasta I’ve ever eaten. Yum!

5 thoughts on “Pasta from scratch

  1. That sounds SO yummy! I want to eat some myself, but let me just tell you right now that I most likely never will unless you make it for me. I feel a sense of accomplishment when I make a box of mac and cheese for my husband…homemade pasta is way out of my league. Also, since you’re new to the whole “blogging” thing, I get some of my fun backgrounds from thecutestblogontheblock.blogspot.com. It has the directions on how to get cute backgrounds and stuff, just in case you’re interested, although I must say you’re doing an excellent job!! Miss you!

  2. Em and Ms says:

    Sounds delicious. I made pasta in a cooking class once. A pasta roller definitely helps the process, but way to go making it yourself! I love making bread from scratch. It tastes so good and there’s just something about kneading that gets rid of all your frustrations.

  3. Yum is right! I love pasta especially when it is fresh and homemade! WOw I am impressed. I’m so excited you started a blog! I was wondering about you the other day. What are you up to now? You spent the summer in Washington doing an internship for that newspaper company right? Are you still working there? How is your family? You are going to love blogging. It’s such a great way to keep in touch!

  4. Jess says:

    hey, can you maybe post the recipe on here? mark would be amazed if i homemade something for once..

  5. yay for blogs! It’s fun to see what you are up to. We should definitely get together, but I am leaving for California next Friday (woohoo!) so it would have to be before then or after Thanksgiving. Let me know when you are available.

What do you think?

