The Best Day


If you’ve ever heard the Taylor Swift song, “The Best Day”, that’s how I feel about my mom. I was lucky enough to have her come and stay with me last weekend. She flew in from Seattle on Friday, March 6 and stayed the entire weekend. 

We played in Salt Lake Friday afternoon, shopping and admiring all of the beautiful Italian shoes at Aldo. We’re in love. For dinner we met up with Russ and Fern Anderson at Applebee’s, it was fun to see them. I don’t think I’d seen them since before my mission. After dinner we did MORE shopping and then we visited with Craig and Liz. She just got her knees replaced and seems to be doing great!
Saturday morning we made breakfast, went to a stake enrichment activity (they taught us how to make bread, but my mom already taught me that), and then we hurried home to get to a ballet! The ballet was both Romeo and Juliet and West Side Story. One before intermission and one after! Super fun! I made a goal to see more productions, especially while I’m around so many fairly cheap ones.

We then went and got my graduation present! My laptop died last semester and I have just been doing without. But not anymore! It has so been useful already, and I’ve only had it a week. I don’t really feel like I deserve it.
Saturday night we went to my favorite FAVORITE Italian restaurant in Provo. It’s called Gloria’s Little Italy. It was so fun, they even had a girl singing there, and she took requests! After dinner we just came back and hung out at my house. 
Sunday we went to church where my mom met a million people. If she can remember any of their names I’d be impressed! After church we made dinner with all of my roommates (minus Emily, she was out of town). My ward had a musical fireside that night so we went to that as well. It was a weekend full of talent.
Monday we went to the temple in the morning before it closed and then we volunteered in the TRC at the MTC. SO FUN! I got to do the italian language scenarios with the missionaries and my mom got to see what missionaries do in the MTC.
After that we did some more shopping… and then we went to dinner and a movie. Confessions of a Shopaholic. It was an appropriate for the weekend, I haven’t been shopping so much as that weekend! We also went to a dollar movie that night with my roommates.
Tuesday morning I drove my mom to the airport and it was back to the grindstone for us. 
The whole weekend was so fun! Moms should always visit.
5 thoughts on “The Best Day

  1. Looks like fun!! There’s nothing like spending a weekend with your mom. You should be able to get my address from this comment. If not, let me know and I’ll facebook you!

  2. Em and Ms says:

    That sounds like so much fun! Every girl should have a weekend like that with her mom. Cute outfit in that first picture by the way. That’s awesome about your new laptop! It’s hard to be without a computer.

  3. Mary-Anne says:

    I agree!! Moms SHOULD always visit. 🙂 It’s been a long time since my mom has visited…I am so glad your mom was able to go out and visit you. It sounds like you had a GREAT weekend filled with lots of fun things. 🙂 Oh…and I just got a new laptop too! I love having a new computer! Thanks for visiting with my mom…she loves having visitors and needs them right now. Anyway…glad things are going well!!

  4. Elaine says:

    Nice laptop, totally jealous! What a fun weekend, you both look so cute. Hope you have some fun plans lined up for the summer (and some cute boys ;)!

  5. Yeah for new laptops! That’s what I want for graduation!!

What do you think?

