Thanksgiving

Besides my mission, this year is the first year that I haven’t eaten Thanksgiving dinner with my parents. It was weird. But I had a good time with my extended family. Ty came down and stayed with me for the weekend, I love that boy. He sure likes to shop. I don’t think I’ve ever been to the mall as much as when he comes to visit. Over the course of the weekend I went to Nordstroms on three separate occasions.

I took Wednesday off from work so we could hang out. It was fun and I love sleeping in! It was a weekend of movies, food and relaxation. Sarah and I were in charge of the the potatoes, a jello salad and the pumpkin pie. It was the first time I have ever done a pumpkin pie by myself (Sarah made the crust), and it turned out pretty well. Everyone ate it. 🙂 We went to my Uncle Craig and Aunt Liz’s house for dinner and stayed the whole day, sleeping, eating, singing and watching movies. You can see some pictures on their blog here.
Friday we slept in again and did some more shopping… no crazy Black Friday shopping, but we did get a few essentials at Costco (shampoo, razors, toothpaste– see, essentials!). My wonderful brother got on our incredibly steep pitched roof and put up my Christmas lights. We also got a tree!! It’s my first one, and we decided that if the tree was going to be fake, all of the decorations would be real, so we got candy canes, strung popcorn and made gingerbread cookie ornaments. I’ll post pictures of the ornament making soon.
I am so excited to make our house so “home-y”… I love looking at the Christmas lights on the tree at night. It’s very nostalgic for me.
Friday night my Grandma Anderson took Ty and I out to dinner (Red Lobster again!). Saturday we went shopping (again!) and we also took the time to go to the BYU Museum of Art. They have some really cool displays right now. I have two favorites: MirrorMirror and Types and Shadows. If you’re in Provo, you should check them out.
Overall, a great weekend, very productive and relaxing! I love my life!
One thought on “Thanksgiving

  1. Meg says:

    Awesome, Kyna! Sounds like a good Thanksgiving – I love the pictures! Can't wait to see the tree pictures! 🙂

What do you think?

