Video Game Merit Badge?

There is a new Video Game Merit Badge according to Mashable, a social media site I watch daily.

Honestly? I thought Boy Scouts was supposed to teach boys how to have important personal skills and IMPORTANT survival skills.
I’ve never used this blog before as a “rant” type blog… but I seriously couldn’t believe this. I understand that the BSA is trying to stay current and that many (MOST) boys enjoy video games today. I’m just nervous that it will only further the descent of lack of social interaction that we have begun.
Just yesterday I was talking to my friend about how rarely teenagers go on “dates” anymore. If boys are ENCOURAGED to play video games, is this really going to get any better? They won’t know how to talk to girls, and let’s be honest, the majority of girls don’t like video games. Maybe we’ll have to get into them a little more just to be able to hold a conversation.
What do you think? Is this a good thing for future Boy Scouts?
2 thoughts on “Video Game Merit Badge?

  1. The Boyce's says:

    Wow! I'm with you…I think that is RIDICULOUS!!! What is this world coming to??

  2. Oh my goodness! I agree-that hardly seems a necessary skill. . . .

What do you think?

