Utah Valley Half Marathon- DID IT!

I did it! When I decided to run the Utah Valley Half Marathon I thought I might be crazy, it had been years since I had been anything close to in shape and even longer since I had run in a race. But, I have been working hard on actually accomplishing my New Year’s Resolutions. So I stuck to it.

Other than missing a week of running after I got a stress fracture in my left foot two weeks before the day of the race, I didn’t miss a single day of my training schedule.
All the effort paid off! I felt great the entire time I was running. The worst part of the whole day was waiting up the canyon in the freezing cold with a bunch of strangers. Although the skies threatened rain the whole time, it only sprinkled a little bit about a mile in to the run.
Ty and Kelli were so sweet and spent their first weekend as a married couple cheering me on and taking me to breakfast after I finished.

(I’m not sure why this picture is so small…)
I finished the race in 2:01:27! I’m happy with the time and next time (yep! I’m going to do another one!) I plan on getting below two hours.
Did you know that they offer you all sorts of food after a race like this? There was free Little Caesers, Red Robin, Creamies, and I think Costa Vida. So weird to think about eating pepperoni pizza at 7:45 a.m.
I did learn though that I need to eat much more than I think I do after a race. All day Saturday my stomach hurt and I couldn’t figure out why, until I tried to eat something and realized I was starving! Lots of lessons learned and I’m really excited for my next race.
I signed up to run the 10k at the Freedom Run on Monday in Provo. I think I like collecting the T-shirts they give you at these races!
3 thoughts on “Utah Valley Half Marathon- DID IT!

  1. Woohoo!!!! I'm SOOO proud of you!!! And very impressed. AND I think you put me over the edge in my decision to run one! I found a friend who will do one with me. Can't wait!! What was your training schedule?

  2. Mary-Anne says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! I am so proud. 🙂 I don't think I could ever do it…you are amazing!

  3. The Mom says:

    Way to go, Kyna!

What do you think?

