Worthless Women and the Men that make them

I found this blog post today and thought I’d read it as a little bit of a boost to my self-esteem. I mean, who doesn’t need something or someone to blame every once in a while? Go to Single Dad Laughing to read about Worthless women and the men that make them.

Disclaimer: I have to say, I’ve never heard of this blog before and I have actually never read another article on the site. So, I don’t know what it’s all about, I hope there’s nothing offensive.
When I first read the title of this post I thought, finally, there’s a man out there who gets it. If men would just accept women for the different molds they come from, everyone would be a lot happier.
And then I read the article. Dan (the author)’s final plea is that if men stop looking (and to help them along the way), we need to start becoming the women we know we can become.
I agree with Dan. I KNOW that we all, men and women, cause problems. The eternal struggle between the two genders is just part of this life. We’re trying to figure out how to work together, because really, when we finally get it, that’s where the miracles really happen.
I think this applies to all people, single, married, divorced, cat ladies and eternal daters.
I’m so grateful for my testimony of the gospel that gives me insights into why these issues are even issues.
1. Bodies. Hello, think somebody is jealous that he doesn’t have one?
2. Men and women loving each other. Last time I checked eternal marriage was a pretty big part of the plan of Salvation.
So, my real question is, what can we do today, tomorrow and next week to really start loving ourselves? And, more importantly allowing the men around us to love us, too?
Please comment, I’d love to hear what you think.
One thought on “Worthless Women and the Men that make them

  1. Meg says:

    I think it is amazing the things that we women say about ourselves (and about each other.) If a male were to say the phrase 'women are useless', we women, as a whole, would rise up and publicly annihilate said man for being a chauvinist and a bigot. Yet when women say these things about themselves, it becomes perfectly acceptable and almost expected. If a woman makes a statement that she is proud of her hair/lips/butt/personality/whatever, we castigate her for being too proud. I don't know if I agree with all of the message – I don't think men can take ALL the blame for this, although I do think they need to shoulder their fair share. And I have always thought that blaming the 'media' is a bit of a cop-out, like the 'media' is some malignant, evil presence bent on world destruction – our at least the destruction of women's self esteem. True that the media propagates these ideas and creates ridiculous, unobtainable paragons of 'beauty' that women are supposed to live up to. But the media did not pull these things out of thin air – they came from somewhere first. There is no single factor to blame and thus no easy solution.

What do you think?

