The Answer

I realized the other day that it had been a while since I had talked to my dad. Mainly because he doesn’t get text messages anymore, something about his cell phone being a government phone and they don’t want to have to pay to keep the records anymore. (Full disclosure takes on a whole new meaning with these laws.)

I call my mom when I’m driving to or from work and catch up on life. My dad is always already at work or still at work by that time, so I don’t want to bother him.

So last Tuesday I called him at night just to say hello.

He answered my phone call in the middle of his leadership meeting for church.

I asked him why he interrupted his meeting to take my call and said, “well, because my daughter is calling from Utah.”

That was the only reason. Because I am his daughter.

I love my family and the lessons that they teach me about loving others.

What do you think?

