Temple Square Service Project

My stake is one of the lucky stakes that gets to help the garden crew at Temple Square do the change from the beautiful tulips to whatever flowers will come for the summer.

We got up at 6 am on Saturday, May 21 to head up and get dirty. All week it had been raining and we were worried that we’d be soaked through before the day was over, but the day dawned clear and bright.

By the end of the day I was worried that I’d be sunburned. My new roommate, Jessica and my friend Sara and I all rode up together. I love working in gardens and dirt. Someday I’ll have a yard where I can grow fresh veggies. Someday.

After we cleaned out the flower beds we got a wonderful lunch in a cute little park right across the street from Temple Square. A few people rinsed their feet off in the freezing water there.

I hope that the weather on Saturday was a good omen for the rest of the summer. And that it will get here quickly!

What do you think?

