Homemade Lara Bars

In early 2010 I got some blood work done and found out I am allergic to wheat.
I cut out wheat from my diet and I immediately started feeling better. I could go on and on about the downsides to having my body hate me when I eat wheat- but instead I want to talk about one of the best things about eliminating one of the staples of the typical American diet.

New foods!

Because I can’t just pick up any loaf of bread or pasta, I’ve been experimenting with alternative kinds of food and recipes.

Does that mean I don’t EVER eat wheat? No. I probably shouldn’t ever eat it, but sometimes I do. (And when I go to Italy– I’m just going to eat the pasta. It’s Italy.)

Of course I started adding in many more veggies and fruits to replace some of the packaged foods I was used to eating, but sometimes you just need something you can grab and go and that doesn’t need refrigeration.

One day wandering around Costco (who doesn’t just wander around when you’re in that store!?) I found Lara bars. I tried the sample pack they had and fell in love with the Peanut Butter Cookie bar.

But I didn’t love the other flavors, Cherry pie and Apple pie, and so I haven’t purchased the sample pack again. I also think they are just a tad too expensive for my budget to buy them from the site. (Although if I did decide to splurge- I would definitely want to order the Peanut Butter cookie box.)

In all of the food blog reading that I do I had seen a few recipes for homemade Lara bars pop up. So, once again I was at Costco and decided to pick up a bag of seeded/pitted dates.

Last night with my roommate helping me, I whipped out the food processor and had these babies done in less than 20 minutes. SO EASY.

PB&J on top, Almond Cookie on bottom

This morning I tasted them and they are delicious! 100 percent natural and totally healthy with all natural sugars. Well, I’m not a nutrition expert- but I’m sure they have to be healthier than bars with preservatives and fake sugars.

Simply searching for a recipe for Homemade Lara Bars comes up with TONS of results. I found this one first- so that’s what I used to start my bars.

I didn’t end up following the recipe exactly, I just eyeballed it and made a paste of the dates, ground up the nuts, added a little shake of salt and called it good.

I made PB & J bars because I had spanish peanuts and cranberries in my pantry. Adding a little peanut butter to it was a fantastic suggestion from Amy Layne’s blog and they are really a perfect snack. I did have to add some water to this batch, but that may have been because I didn’t put enough dates in to make it stick.

The Almond Cookie bar turned out tasty, definitely much sweeter and “datier” than the PB&J bar.

I cut the bars up into squares and rectangles- some snack size and some more hearty-snack size.

If you’re looking for something fun and SUPER easy to try- try these bars! Or just buy some Lara Bars- they’re delicious too.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Homemade Lara Bars

  1. Vicky Crookston says:

    I didn’t know you needed to eat Gluten Free too. I was diagnosed with Celiac in 2006. It’s such a hard diet to get used to, but so worth it. I can always tell if I’ve eaten something that was contaminated because my roseaca is worse within about 30 minutes.
    Have you got the cookbook the Gluten Free Girl and the Chef? It’s totally awesome! Her blog saved my life! I love her blog and I love how her hubby has an entire restrurant on Vashon Island that is GF. Their pizza dough is awesome and so is their Olive Oil and Lemon Cookie recipe.

    • Kyna says:

      Hi Vicky! Thanks for the commenting- I think I remembered that you had Celiac… I don’t think I’m full-blown Celiac (thank goodness!) If I remember correctly the blood work said I was 95 percent allergic to wheat. I haven’t tried that cookbook, but there are a million websites with gluten-free recipes that I enjoy browsing. I’ve honestly just cut out most grains because it’s easier (and healthier!) Maybe I’ll have to make a trip to Vashon Island someday and try their restaurant!

What do you think?

