Birthday Baking

My roommate Jessica turned 24 this weekend and to celebrate we invited a bunch of people over and made some delicious treats. Too many, probably. But you only turn 24 once.

Picture of Chocolate Cake

Didn't have room for all 24 candles...

I don’t even like cake and I can’t stop eating this chocolate cake. It is sweet, moist, decadent, chocolatey and EASY. My mom introduced me to this cake and I found out at the party on Sunday that it is actually quite well known. If you already have this recipe- you know what I’m talking about.

Recipe:Best Chocolate Cake Ever

Mix the following ingredients well:
1 small package of instant chocolate pudding
4 eggs
1/2 c oil
1/2 c water
1 c sour cream
1 chocolate cake mix

After mixing, fold in 12 oz of chocolate chips.

Grease a bundt pan- if you don’t have a bundt pan you could still cook this cake, they are so pretty, you might as well go to a thrift store and get one. Cook for 1 hour on 350 degrees. Cool for at least 10 minutes then flip out of pan onto cake stand. Or a plain white plate like me. Dust with powdered sugar.

(I’ve also heard hot fudge as frosting takes this cake to an entirely different level.)

picture of party food vintage

The Spread

Along with the cake we made no-bake cookies, peanut butter blossoms and oatmeal scotchies.

picture of blowing out candles

Happy Birthday, Dscribble!

I’m so glad Jessica is my roommate- she’s one of the coolest people I know. She plays the drums (yellow ones!), teaches high school English to kids who don’t care about anything and is always up for an adventure.

Tagged ,

2 thoughts on “Birthday Baking

  1. Mary-Anne says:

    Look at you being such a good roommate. 🙂 All that food looks delicious!!

  2. Julie says:

    Yeah!! I am glad you found a pan! It is a delicious cake!! Sounds like a fun party! You are a great friend!

What do you think?

