Rome: Day 1, La Cupola di San Pietro

After exploring the Vatican we left our tour group and began our exploration of St. Peter’s Basilica.

St Peters Basilica in Rome, Italy
The dome and the incredible architecture are immediately noticeable as you exit the Vatican museums.


The art and view is just as impressive on the inside. Every church in Italy with a dome has incredible art. It’s amazing to think about the talent that it took to make the sculptures, paint ceilings and craft scenes that take your breath away.

I remember studying “La Pieta'” in Art History in college and thinking, “Sure, it’s pretty… but I don’t really get it.” The moment I saw La Pieta in St. Peter’s Basilica, it actually took my breath away. There is something so moving about the tenderness between a mother and son in this sculpture. I know, I fell asleep almost every day in Art History, but if it helps me get the significance of works of art such as these, I’m glad I did it.

The only thing that made me sad about this dome was that it was so little and so far away, I couldn’t see it as clearly as I wanted to. I do appreciate the symmetry in the dome though.

When we left the inside of the Basilica, you could just barely glimpse the cupola on top of the church.

After some deliberation, we decided to pay and go up to the top of the dome. The stairway up to the top got more and more narrow as we progressed… and it was still fairly warm in Rome. There wasn’t a lot of air in that little staircase. The picture above might look crooked, but it’s not, the hallway was. I kept thinking that my tall brothers would not have enjoyed that little hike.


The first thing you see when you walk out onto the rim of the cupola is the square below the Vatican- and then the rest of Rome. If you ever go to Rome, this is one hike worth paying for (in Euro and in sore muscles!)

I loved the mailboxes and those bright colors!


The statues of the apostles are beautiful, even from the back!

We were a little sweaty, more than a little tired (24 hours of flying and two different countries later) but we were happy. Back in our beloved Italy seeing places and things we had only heard about.

More coming about the rest of Rome! The Colosseum, the Roman Forum and random other events of our time in Rome.

Tagged , ,

5 thoughts on “Rome: Day 1, La Cupola di San Pietro

  1. Lora Bailey says:

    Kyna, What wonderful pictures of your trip to Rome! What an adventurous young lady you are! What great memories you are storing up for the rest of your life! We are happy for you and your friends! Love hearing from you!

    Your former 4th grade teacher says you get an A+ 🙂

  2. […] we visited the Cupola di San Pietro we took the bus back to the train […]

  3. […] Italy: Rome, Day 1, The Vatican Italy: Rome, Day 1, La Cupola di San Pietro […]

  4. Jenifer F. says:

    Hello,
    I just wanted to know, if I’m allowed to use your image of St. Peter’s Basilica.
    We celebrate our commencement under the theme Italy and would use it as a poster.
    Greetings

What do you think?

