1st trip of 2012- Las Vegas

I just got back from my first work trip of the year. We went to Las Vegas for a tradeshow and I had a much larger part in planning it all this year- I was a little… okay, a lot nervous about the whole thing, but it went really well!

We loaded up the truck with all of the equipment we’d need on Friday.

IMG_0102

Saturday we hit the road and drove the first real snow of this dry, dry winter to warm(ish) Las Vegas.

We stayed at Caesar’s Palace, which is where the show was. My favorite part of the hotel was probably the jetted tub. I think I might becoming a bath girl.

Tradeshows are always full of lots of setup and working with a lot of different people. I’m always really tired after a tradeshow and I think it’s because I don’t normally interact with so many people all day and night. You’re constantly “on” while representing your company- and it gets tiring after a while.

But, there are some perks.

We took time to eat dinner one night at Serendipity- of New York and feature-film fame.
They have the best fries I’ve ever eaten. In my life!
IMG_0114

I also really like my coworkers and the clients that we have in our mega-booth. It’s always a good time with them, whether we’re talking business at the booth, passing time at an exclusive MMA fight (ring-side seats baby) or just online chatting.

IMG_0108

We were promoting one of our software’s many new features, which is that it can create and track QR codes now. If you haven’t ever used a QR code, ask me about it and I’ll tell you more!

After the last day of the show we had to change hotels because of booking prices going up dramatically at Caesar’s, so we headed over to Red Rock Casion to get our room we had reserved well in advance.

We showed up and saw this little beauty in the valet line…

IMG_0129

And then we were told that they were oversold and they were going to have to change our reservation.

We had booked a normal 2 queen room.

This is what we got instead.

IMG_0131
A two-bedroom LUXURY suite. And Red Rock knows what luxury means.

IMG_0134

IMG_0137
Even the bathrooms (of which there were 3- 2 private and one half-bath in the entry) were to die for.
IMG_0145
Jetted tub with a TV above it. I stayed in there for about an hour relaxing.

IMG_0148
Even the toilet was completely automated and very fancy.
IMG_0153

After four days of hard work, I felt very pampered in that hotel room. Now if only the room didn’t cost more than 3 grand to reserve…

Tagged ,

7 thoughts on “1st trip of 2012- Las Vegas

  1. Lora Bailey says:

    WOW! Kyna, I think I want your job! What fun an luxurious places you get to stay! Enjoyed reading your blog again! Thanks for including me!

  2. Mary-Anne says:

    Uh …. That hotel room is awesome! Lucky!

  3. Julie says:

    Who checked the packing of your truck?? Dad

    • Kyna says:

      Ha! We repacked it onto a trailer later but I didn’t get a picture of it. That was just to get stuff from the storage unit to the trailer. I did think of your expert packing skills while we were trying to get everything to fit!

  4. Julie says:

    Good job on your trade show! What a relief. Your room looked amazing!

  5. Paige W says:

    I can’t believe you only spent an hour in that bathroom, they’d have to haul me oughtta there, dripping bubbles and all . . .

What do you think?

