Running through the pain

More than a year ago I got a stress fracture from overtraining and essentially quit running for a year. I have done 2 or 3 miles here or there, but nothing serious and no races until the 5k with my family for Christmas.

With the races that I just signed up for looming nearer and nearer, I have gotten much more diligent and I am trying to get back into running, but it’s painful.

It’s painful because my foot still hurts.

Some runs it is worse than others and some runs (the ones I crave) I don’t feel it at all. Yesterday I did 3 miles and it was windy and my foot started hurting badly enough that I started favoring it. Enough to give myself knee pain and then hip pain because I was favoring it so badly. (Yes, I am using my blog to complain- you didn’t have to read it.)

It’s also painful because I remember the ease with which I was running when I got injured.

I barely did 3 miles at a 12 minute mile pace yesterday, I wasn’t dead at the end but I don’t know how much more I could have pulled off. I think back to the time when I could whip out 3 miles at a 7:30 minute pace (just over a year ago now) and it almost makes me want to give up.

I think part of the reason my run yesterday was so painful is that the weather changed today, it has been sunny and beautiful and today the rain clouds came in, it started pouring and the weather app on my phone says it will be dreary like this until Sunday.


(Side note: I found this pirate picture from a Google Images search and it’s on a blog post about how to fool court-ordered monitoring. Hilarious.)

I now believe all those stories about pirates with wooden legs and old people who say they can feel a storm coming in their joints. I can too! I’m sure there is a scientific reason behind this effect, but I wish it weren’t the case.

I always tell my friends when they complain about hating running or how they just “aren’t runners” that you have to give it a solid month of regular running before you can tell if you are going to enjoy running. I have been trying steadily again for about 2.5 weeks. I’m already enjoying it more, I can’t wait to see what the next few weeks bring.

What do you think?

